Author Topic: New Member, New Project.  (Read 2837 times)

Offline Bronco-BSA

• Active
New Member, New Project.
« on: 10.11. 2011 17:22 »
Hello All,

Found you on a google search and had to join up although I have not got a BSA yet. I started riding in 1976 but gave up in 1982 when I got married, I finally got back to bikes 12 years ago and now own a Yamaha FJR. I've always done my own maintainance and have wanted a classic british bike for years. My dad told me many stories of when he had a Douglas 350 in the 1950's.

Anyway I've think I've finaly found what I've been looking for, I've been offered a 1960 A10 in bits and not complete.
Here's what there is:

Engine & gearbox (no barrel's or pistons)
Frame & Swing arm (no shocks or forks)
Oil tank
A front wheel with a 4 leading shoe set up and alloy rim. (unknown origin, possible Japanese)
A box full of bits including; Levers, headlight shell, lots of different bearings (new), Boyer ignition, Magneto and lots of nuts and bolts
2 alloy mudguards (no stays that I can see)
Seat base.

Can someone tell me what a fair price is for the above 'BitSA'.

I also need to add to my tool box as I've got all metric. Do I need AF or whitworth? and what are the most common size's needed.

I look forward to picking your brains,

Regards,

Richard. *dunno*

Offline Butch (cb)

• Wise & Enlightened
Re: New Member, New Project.
« Reply #1 on: 10.11. 2011 18:05 »
My view would be no more than a grand. For spanners you'll want BSF/BSW. Good luck.
Warning - observations made by this member have a 93% unreliability rating.

Of Bikes; various, including ...
'58 S/Arm Iron Head Flash Bitza

Online muskrat

• Global Moderator
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • Lithgow NSW Oz
    • Shoalhaven Classic Motorcycle Club Inc
« Reply #2 on: 10.11. 2011 19:14 »
G'day Richard, welcome to the forum.
                                                  1/4", 5/16", 3/8", 7/16" ring/open end spanners and same in sockets BS/Whit.