Author Topic: T/S Bearing conversion options  (Read 502 times)

Offline spottycat

• Moving Up
T/S Bearing conversion options
« on: 28.06. 2024 09:19 »
Hi, Being quite new to the A10 I am still learning about its specific foibles. The bearing conversion at the timing side seems like a good idea. I know SRM offer a service but I have read articles that say there are other options, some of which are simpler (and maybe, therefore, cheaper) I spoke to SRM and as well as the cost, which would push my budget, they have an 8 to 10 week turn around. I want to move on with my rebuild but am having trouble deciding which way to go on this. Can anyone recommend another engineering firm experienced at carrying out this procedure even if there system is slightly different please. I do not thrash the bike but intend to cover a lot of miles. I may end up sticking with the standard bush but all the shimming sounds like a pain. Cheers, Chris
61 A10

Online limeyrob

• Resident Legend
Re: T/S Bearing conversion options
« Reply #1 on: 28.06. 2024 09:53 »
I've just rebuilt my engine with the standard bush.  Over the years I've had a number of A10s and an A65 (with the bush) and its not been a problem.  There are still huge numbers of BSA twins running after 60 years on plain timing side bushes.  What is a problem is oil, use the right grade, the sludge trap which is what kills most T/S bushes and setting it up right.  I did the end float and is was not a bad job, there's some tricks - use an old bearing to pull on and of, but its straight forward.  The ball/roller conversion is a big job. If you follow Paul Henshaw on YT he recently rebuilt an A65 with a full TS roller conversion that had been seized because it had an anti wet sump tap and the owner forgot to turn it on. There's a lot to be said for keeping things simple.
Slough 59 GF/SR

Online JulianS

• 1962 A10
  • Wise & Enlightened
« Reply #2 on: 28.06. 2024 11:03 »