Author Topic: Metal on metal Knocking when trying to kick over after changing rocker gaskets  (Read 992 times)

Offline Jlad

• Active
Forgive me As I am a novice with classic bikes so any help would be greatly appreciated. I have recently bought a 1959 shooting star which started and ran perfectly but was leaking allot of oil from the rocker gaskets and primary chaincase. I decided to buy a Haynes manual and change the gaskets myself which all seemed to go well but when I had put it all back together I have it a kick and a metal on metal type knock every time i kicked. Could this be the rods hitting the covers ? Im sure I got them in the caps but I know from reading they are fiddly. Any advice would be great as I can't seem to find any suggestions online.

Online limeyrob

• Resident Legend
Since you only changed gaskets assume a push rod is out of place.  Undo all the nuts and lift the rocker box, see if you can poke the offending rod into place.  Do you have a push rod comb, if not get one they don't cost a lot.
https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/393567265074?gad_source=1&mkevt=1&mkcid=1&mkrid=710-53481-19255-0&campid=5338723872&toolid=20006&customid=KC3dsbAdAAAAHKISmxIapG3SchEOAAAAAA
Slough 59 GF/SR

Offline a10 gf

• Global Moderator
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • West Coast, Norway & Alpes Maritimes, France
    • A10 GF

Stand with
A10 GF '53 My A10 website
"Success only gets you a ticket to a much more difficult task"

Offline Jlad

• Active
Thank you I have ordered one so fingers crossed

Offline Billybream

• Resident Legend
If you have nimble fingers, that's a great help when fitting the rocker box, a small torch is useful as well, the comb will be assist, but it's best clamped somehow or held by an assistant. One of the challenges on our BSA,s, but sometimes so easy, best also to back the tappet adjusters off.
1960 Super Rocket, owned since 1966, back on the road 2012 after being laid up for 29yrs.

Offline Swarfcut

• Wise & Enlightened