Author Topic: To rebuild myself or have professionally done  (Read 2220 times)

Offline 7iain7

• Moving Up
To rebuild myself or have professionally done
« on: 16.08. 2023 19:58 »
Hi all.
My A10 was burning oil and sounded quite poorly.
I removed the cylinder head and barrels. The barrels didn't look too bad. I will take them to work and measure them with an internal bore micrometer. However, the pistons look quite bad. From what I could tell, the big ends and small ends are shot.

My main question is how difficult are these engines to rebuild? I have rebuilt British Leyland A-series engines (with a 649 cam a few other goodies.)a few times in the 1980s. However, I have never rebuilt a motorcycle engine. I am an apprentice trained toolmaker by trade.

52 A10

Offline muskrat

• Global Moderator
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • Lithgow NSW Oz
    • Shoalhaven Classic Motorcycle Club Inc
Re: To rebuild myself or have professionally done
« Reply #1 on: 16.08. 2023 20:15 »
G'day Iain.
For an apprentice toolmaker it should be a walk in the park.
All the help and advice you may need is right here on the Forum.
Cheers
'51 A7 plunger, '57 A7SS racer now a A10CR, '78 XT500, '83 CB1100F, 88 HD FXST, 2000 CBR929RR ex Honda Australia Superbike .
Australia
Muskys Plunger A7

Offline Greybeard

• Jack of all trades; master of none.
  • Wise & Enlightened
« Reply #2 on: 16.08. 2023 20:21 »
These engines are very simple but with some tricky bits that you need to know about. Everything you could possibly need to know is within this forum. There is not a better source of support for the A7 & A10. The forum search functions are good but if you ask a question you will get help from some of the world's most knowledable wizards on these bikes. Lucky you;  you've landed in the right place 👍

It only costs 500 a year to be a member. I'll tell you my bank details shortly 😉
Greybeard (Neil)
2023 Gold Star
Supporter of THE DISTINGUISHED GENTLEMAN'S RIDE https://www.gentlemansride.com