Author Topic: Newbie in western New York  (Read 800 times)

Offline cpete

• Active
  • Rome wasn't built in a day, but I wish my bike wa.
Newbie in western New York
« on: 18.01. 2012 15:39 »
Hello all,
I'm new to vintage bike game, and excited to be a part now.
I have wanted a Cafe Racer, but didn't have the money to buy what I wanted, or know how to build one.
I'm the guy who had one fall on his doorstep almost literally.
A neighbor threw an old British bike out on his curb for garbage collection.
Another neighbor told me about it after he checked that it really was garbage.
We pushed it across the street and figured we could get a couple hundred on eBay for it.
After researching and help from members of this and another forum, we found out it was a 1961 BSA Super Rocket.
It sold for a grand, but all bidders were overseas, and I wasn't going to break down and ship it.
So I decided to keep it and start sinking money into it.
I'm dismantling now and it now sits in pieces in my basement.
Pistons are stuck, and a bit of rust, but not too bad otherwise.
I'll be taking frame in for little fixes, beadblast and powder coat.
And will be looking for someone close to rebuild the engine.
Just don't trust myself to do it right.
Would love to be involved, but realize that probably won't happen.
Any suggestions on good builders in my area would be great.
Sorry to be long winded, just really excited about being a Beeza guy now.
I'll shut up now.
Chad
Chad

Online Topdad

• bob hebdon
  • Wise & Enlightened
  • l
Re: Newbie in western New York
« Reply #1 on: 18.01. 2012 16:25 »