Author Topic: Cork Fuel Taps  (Read 1769 times)

davemac

Cork Fuel Taps
« on: 12.01. 2010 06:44 »
Hi Guys,
Just joined the Forum and I've got an A10, engine no. DA10 2058 frame no. EA 1391 I believe it's a 1958 Golden Flash although it's got an aluminium head and RR front end. Anyway  I was interested reading your comments on cork fuel taps. The old girl was in storage for 15 plus years, for various reasons, and about 9 months ago I decided it was time to get it out. I made sure I turned it over every month or so and apart from replacing a lot of the gaskets cause they'd gone hard the only real problem I had was the fuel taps - no fuel in the tank - cork dried out big time. Bought a couple of new ones, ( dear as poison), fitted them in - problem solved. Unfortunately a serious bill came in and I had to pospone rego. for a few months. Now I did leave fuel in the tank thinking it would keep the cork moist. I know what you're goin' to say but I'm still a novice so that's my explaination. Anyway to cut a long story short the cork was buggered again and I wasn't going to buy any more so I went to a wheel bearing company and went through their stock of "O" rings. I found a size that seemed right but three was slightly loose with four too tight. I decided on three per tap and bought 12 to fit both sets for bugger all cash. When I fitted them up it still leaked so three wasn' enough. After some serious patience and manipulating I got four of them on the plungers and into the shafts. Although they were very tight to operate, I needed a pair of plyers initially, I can now pull them out by hand. So far they have worked brilliantly and they cost me next to nothing.   

Online bsa-bill

• Wise & Enlightened
Re: Cork Fuel Taps
« Reply #1 on: 12.01. 2010 09:56 »
Sounds like a worthwhile mod provided the o-ring rubber is fuel proof.
Cork is OK (11 years in my bike so far and no leaks) provided you soak them in fuel for a few days before fitting (or some use water )