Author Topic: wrong carb too  (Read 2171 times)

Offline coater87

• Wise & Enlightened
wrong carb too
« on: 23.05. 2009 04:40 »
 Guys,

Well the basket has the wrong carb also. I have looked and tried to find out what it belongs to as I am sure I will either end up swapping it, or selling it to buy the right one.

I have found a few number listings for Amal, but none that went high enough on the back-end numbers. If this is something a little odd, I would like it to go to someone who needs it for a spot on resto- I just need a 376.

Anyway, the carb numbers are 389/40. If anyone needs this, or knows what its for (and please dont say a car, but I would not be shocked at all) could you let me know?

Thanks,
Lee
Central Wisconsin in the U.S.

Offline Josh Cox

• Valued Contributor
Re: wrong carb too
« Reply #1 on: 23.05. 2009 05:08 »
Lee,

Firstly I'd like to mention I am no expert, but, do not stress too much about what is stamped on the collar of your carby. It may have been put together from parts etc etc.

You really need to pull it down and see what jets etc etc are fitted.

Go here:
http://www.amalcarb.co.uk/searchByMake.aspx

To find out what was supposed to be fitted, you can also work out if what you have fitted is OK for your bike.

NOTE: MAKE SURE YOU TAKE NOTE OF WHICH SLOT YOUR NEEDLE IS CLIPPED INTO.

It's quite possible that a previous owner upgraded to a new/better carby at some stage.

Good Luck.
Black 1953 Golden Flash Plunger

Online Triton Thrasher

• Scotland
  • Wise & Enlightened
« Reply #2 on: 23.05. 2009 06:33 »
If it has the same bore size as the opening in the manifold, I'd say it's the "right carb." Itmay not have the right jets and slide (yet).

Offline fido

• Ferdinandovac, Croatia
  • Resident Legend
« Reply #3 on: 23.05. 2009 08:00 »